

List of Beneficiaries to participate in the Sub-regional Meetings of Indigenous Peoples from Canada, United States, and the Caribbean

Follow-up to the III Indigenous Leaders Summit of the Americas (ILSA) "Implementing the Rights of Indigenous Peoples of the Americas for Present and Future Generations"

The Summits of the Americas Secretariat, the Assembly of First Nations (AFN), the Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC) and the Inuit Circumpolar Council [Canada] (ICC), are working in partnership to organize the Sub-regional Meeting with Indigenous Peoples representatives from North America and the Caribbean in follow-up to the III ILSA, to be held on Monday, December 13, 2010, in Ottawa, Canada.

The Selection Committee, composed of representatives of the partner institutions, reviewed all the applications for funding received until November 17, 2010 and selected 10 Indigenous representatives to be sponsored to participate in the Sub-regional event. The criteria applied for the selection are the following: i) Relevance to the agenda and objectives of this ILSA follow-up meeting; ii) Gender equity; and iii) Geographical representation. Preference was given to indigenous applicants who participated in the III ILSA and/or the Seminar on Mechanisms of Indigenous Peoples' Participation in the Inter-American System.

Financial support will cover a roundtrip ticket to Ottawa in economy class and the costs of accommodation. We expect these representatives to share the information discussed in the meeting with their respective communities. The following indigenous peoples were selected:

- Damon Corrie. Pan-Tribal Confederacy of Indigenous Tribal Nations (Barbados)
- Olga Tzec. The Belize National Indigenous Council, BENIC (Belize)
- Jeannette Corbiere Lavell. Native Women's Association of Canada (Canada)
- Lea Nicholas-MacKenzie. International Indigenous Women's Forum (Canada)
- Chief George Norton. Guyanese Organization of Indigenous Peoples (Guyana)
- **Zoila Ellis**. The Garifuna Heritage Foundation (St. Vincent and the Grenadines)
- Hariette Theresia Vreedzaam-Joeroeja. Sanomaro Esa Foundation/Caribbean Organization of Indigenous Peoples –COIP- (Suriname)
- Kent Lebsock. Lakota Nation, Owe Aku International Justice Project (United States)
- June Lorenzo. American Indian Law Alliance (United States)
- **Roberto Borrero**. United Confederation of Taino People, Caribbean Indigenous Community- Puerto Rico.