November 4, 2014

View in web browser | Versión en Español

Summits of the Americas Secretariat

Summits of the Americas Secretariat

- In brief -


Did you know…

Twenty Years…that in December 2014, the Summits of the Americas will celebrate two decades of partnership in the region? Eight Summits* have been held in the Americas since 1994, during which Summit stakeholders helped define an architecture for Inter-American cooperation.

Participants in these Summits included the 34 Member States of the OAS, the Joint Summit Working Group, the Private Sector, Civil Society and Social Actors. Some of the most notable mechanisms and initiatives that emerged from these partnerships were the adoption of the Inter-American Democratic Charter, the Convention against Corruption and its follow-up mechanism (MESISIC); the creation of the Multilateral Evaluation Mechanism (MEM) to address the drug problem, the Inter-American Social Protection Network (IASPN), the Energy and Climate Partnership of the Americas (ECPA); and the report on Drugs in the Americas, among others.

This successful partnership continues with the next Summit of the Americas to be held in Panama in April 2015.

* Previous Summits

- First Summit, Miami, USA 1994
- Summit on Sustainable Development, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia 1996
- Second Summit, Santiago 1998
- Third Summit, Quebec, Canada 2001
- Extraordinary Summit, Monterrey, Mexico 2004
- Fourth Summit, Mar del Plata, Argentina 2005
- Fifth Summit, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago 2009
- Sixth Summit, Cartagena, Colombia 2012


'Did you know' Archives


Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Forward this bulletin

Contact Us | Unsubscribe