May 30, 2019

    logo sas en

oeacd en 

The Summits of the Americas Secretariat welcomes the OECD as a new member of the JSWG

In April 2019, the Joint Summit Working Group (JSWG) welcomed the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) as a member. Hopefully, OECD's membership of the JSWG will boost support for member states' efforts to implement the mandates of the Summits, especially those arising out of the “Lima Commitment: Democratic Governance against Corruption”, adopted at the Eighth Summit of the Americas, and expand the scope of potential cooperation on behalf of the countries in the region on issues relating to integrity and efforts to combat corruption.

        What is the OECD?

The OECD was founded in 1961 and has 36 member countries. Its mission is to promote policies to enhance the economic and social well-being of people all over the world. The OECD serves as a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to problems they have in common.

        OECD and the JSWG: United Against Corruption

In connection with the Mechanism for Follow-up and Implementation of the Lima Commitment, adopted by the States taking part in the Eighth Summit of the Americas, the Summits of the Americas Secretariat is putting together a Database of Best Practices and Regional capacities to prevent and combat corruption, which hopefully will help foster opportunities for cooperation among States and the entities in the JSWG in their efforts to prevent and combat corruption.

The JSWG is a horizontal technical cooperation mechanism providing ongoing dialogue and close coordination within the inter-American system to ensure effective and efficient implementation of, and follow-up to, the mandates of the Summits of the Americas. The Summits Secretariat serves as the Technical Secretariat of the JSWG.

Find out more about the OECD here.